| Literature DB >> 26607561 |
Katharina Allers1,2, Beverley M Essue3,4, Maree L Hackett5, Janani Muhunthan6, Craig S Anderson7,8, Kristen Pickles9, Franziska Scheibe10,11, Stephen Jan12.
Abstract
BACKGROUND: In this review we aimed to determine the economic impact of epilepsy and factors associated with costs to individuals and health systems.Entities:
Mesh:
Substances:
Year: 2015 PMID: 26607561 PMCID: PMC4660784 DOI: 10.1186/s12883-015-0494-y
Source DB: PubMed Journal: BMC Neurol ISSN: 1471-2377 Impact factor: 2.474
Fig. 1PRISMA Flowchart of included and excluded studies
Characteristics of studies included in review
| Study | Study design | N | Country Patient population | Study objective | Follow-up period | Economic outcomes measured |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beghi et al. 2004 [ | Cohort study | 631 | Italy | To investigate the costs of epilepsy in different prognostic categories | 12 months | - Direct costs |
| Boon et al. 2002 [ | Cohort study | 84 | Belgium | To compare and economically evaluate epilepsy-related direct medical costs incurred by different treatment modalities (conservatively, surgically and vague nerve stimulation- treated) and to determine. | Mean follow-up interval of 26 months | - Direct costs |
| Cockerell 1994 [ | Cohort study | 602 | UK | To assess the epilepsy related socio-economic costs in a population so that health care priorities can be set | Mean follow-up interval 6.6 years | - Direct costs |
| Das et al. 2007 [ | Cohort study | 1450 | India | To evaluate the rate of discontinuation of epilepsy treatment and the related socio-economic factors responsible for discontinuation | 12 months | - Direct costs |
| De Zelicourt et al. 2000 [ | Cohort study | 1942 | France | Estimation of the direct medical cost for patients during the first two years after diagnosis | 24 months | - Direct costs |
| Farmer et al. 1992 [ | Quasi randomized trial | 215 | Ecuador | To report the effects of epilepsy and its treatment on the social functioning of patients treated in Northern Ecuador | 12 months | - Employment status |
| Guerrini et al. 2001 [ | Cohort study | 189 | Italy | To compare the direct costs of epilepsy in a child neurology referral population, stratified by disease, duration, and severity, across three health care settings. | 12 months | - Direct costs of epilepsy |
| Halpern et al. 2011 [ | Cohort study | 574 | USA | To assess whether people with epilepsy who are uninsured and those who have Medicaid coverage have greater out-of-pocket costs | 6 years | - Out-of-pocket costs |
| Helmstaedter et al. 2000 [ | Cohort study | 161 | Germany | To investigate the long-term effects of surgical and non-surgical treatment of drug-resistant temporal lobe epilepsy according to socioeconomic development | Mean follow-up interval 58 months | - Employment status |
| Kotsopoulos et al. 2003 [ | Cohort study | 116 | Netherlands | (a) To gain insight into the direct and indirect costs of epilepsy care, and | 3 months (and 3 months retrospective) | - Direct costs |
| Langfitt et al. 2007 [ | Cohort study | 68 | USA. | To determine whether health care costs change when seizures are controlled after surgery | 2 years (and 2 years pre-evaluation) | - Direct costs |
| Lindsten et al. 2002 [ | Case–control study | 63 | Sweden | To investigate the socioeconomic prognosis after a newly diagnosed unprovoked epileptic seizure | 10 years | - Income |
| Pato Pato et al. 2011[ | Cohort study | 171 | Spain | To carry out an economic estimate of the direct, indirect and intangible costs of epilepsy | 6 months | - Direct costs |
| Tetto et al. 2002 [ | Cohort study | 525 | Italy | To compare the direct costs of epilepsy in patients referred with epilepsy of different severity and duration | 12 months | - Direct costs |
| Balabanov et al. 2007 [ | Cohort study | 146 | Bulgaria | To evaluate the effect of demographic and clinical factors on the quality of life and cost of treatment of epilepsy patients on monotherapy with carbamazepine and valproate | 12 months | - Direct costs |
| Lagunju et al. 2011 [ | Cohort study | 215 | Nigeria | To estimate the total cost of childhood epilepsy and to provide essential information on the economic burden of childhood epilepsy in Nigeria | 12 months | - Direct costs |
| Doumbia-Outtara et al. 2010 [ | Cohort study | 70 | Cote d’Ivoire | To evaluate the efficacy and tolerance of anti-epileptic drugs and the financial cost of care | n/a | - Direct costs |
| Dongmo et al. 2003 [ | Cohort study | 125 | Cameroon | To evaluate the difficulties faced in the management of epileptic patients in their natural environment | 12 months | - Direct costs |
| Haroon et al. 2012 [ | Cohort study | 134 | India | To evaluate the costs of active epilepsy and study the pattern of drug prescription and utilisation in epileptic patients | 4 months | - Direct costs |
| Strzelcyck et al. 2013 [ | Cohort study | 252 | Germany | To estimate the direct and indirect costs of epilepsy and evaluate trends in the resource use of patients with active epilepsy. | 12 months | -Direct costs |
| Lv et al. 2007 [ | Cohort study | 533 | China | To assess the impact of childhood epilepsy on parental quality of life (QoL) and psychological health, and to investigate possible correlations between parental QoL, background variables and parental anxiety and depression | 12 months | - Direct costs |
| Vlasov et al. 2010 [ | Cohort study | Russia | To evaluate the clinical-economic effectiveness of anti-epileptic drug (AED) therapy | 12 months | -Direct costs |
Abbreviations: DR drug-resistant seizures, NDE newly diagnosed epilepsy, NDR frequent non-drug-resistant seizures, OS occasional seizures, SR seizure remission, SC surgical
World Bank country classifications: HIC: high-income country; UMIC: upper-middle income country; LMIC: lower-middle-income country
(Accessible at: http://data.worldbank.org/about/country-and-lending-groups#Low_income)
Summary of findings – direct costs
| Study | Total direct costs | Out-of-pocket costs | Direct cost summary |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beghi et al. 2004 [ | Mean costs: €1302 | n/a | Costs of epilepsy patients vary significantly according to time course of the disease and response to treatment. Hospital admissions and drugs are major sources of expenditure |
| Boon et al. 2002 [ | Conservatively treated | n/a | As a result of offering epilepsy surgery and VNS to the patients, the costs of the most expensive patient group are reduced to the mean cost level of patients with refractory epilepsy. It takes some years to balance all direct costs incurred by epilepsy surgery and VNS by the savings after better seizure control and fewer hospital admissions. |
| Cockerell et al. 1994 [ | Newly diagnosed seizures: £611 (first year); £169 per patient per annum (subsequent years) | n/a | Direct cost of £611 per patient per annum which decreased after eight years of follow-up to £169 per patient per annum. |
| De Zelicourt et al. 2000 [ | First year: FF 14 305 | n/a | Cost during first year sensitive to aetiologic categorisation of seizures and other clinical parameters. Cost during second year sensitive to frequency of seizure and treatment with AEDs. |
| Guerrini et al. 2001 [ | Mean annual cost: €1,767 | n/a | The cost of epilepsy tends to vary significantly depending on the severity and duration of the disease. Hospital services and drugs are the major sources of costs. The setting of health care plays a significant role in the variation of the costs, even for patients in the same category of epilepsy. |
| Halpern et al. 2011 [ | n/a |
| Uninsured individuals had significantly fewer outpatient visits with neurologists, and greater antiepileptic drug costs than did those with private insurance. Individuals with Medicaid coverage had similar medical resource utilization but lower out-of-pocket costs compared with privately insured individuals. |
| Kotsopoulos et al. 2003 [ | GP: €625 | GP: €84 | Patients from GP appeared to have lower direct costs. The cost items anti-epileptic drugs, hospital services, unpaid care, and transportation accounted for the majority of the total direct costs. |
| Langfitt et al. 2007 [ | Baseline vs Follow up | n/a | Costs remain stable over 2 years post-evaluation in patients with temporal lobe epilepsy whose seizures persist, but patients who become seizure free after surgery use substantially less health care than before surgery. Further cost reductions in seizure-free patients can be expected as antiepileptic drugs are successfully eliminated. |
| Pato Pato et al. 2011 [ | €2,110 per year (€ 1055 for 6 months) | n/a | See table 3 |
| Tetto et al. 2002 [ | NDE: €1002; SR: €412; OS: €558; NDR: €1626; DR: €2198; SC: €3945 | n/a | The direct costs of epilepsy vary significantly depending on the severity of the disease and the response to treatment. Hospital admissions and drugs are the most common items of expenditure. |
| Balabanov et al. 2007 [ | Patients on Carbamazepine | n/a | Age, gender and type of seizure did not cause major differences in direct costs. In Carbamazepine patients costs were influenced by the incidence of AEs, time between seizures and percentage of seizure reduction. In Valproate patients costs were influenced by the time period between seizures. |
| Lagunju et al. 2011 [ | n/a | Median direct costs for one year | Carers of children with epilepsy incur very high out-of-pocket expenses due to a lack of well-established national health insurance programme and social support services. |
| Doumbia-Outtara et al. 2010 [ | n/a | Mean direct costs of hospitalisation: 148 715 FCFA | Phenobarbital was the most frequently used AED (40%) and is the treatment of choice for patients. Financial accessibility to modern treatment of epilepsy is difficult as the cost of care is very high compared to the average salary. 22% of patients left the unit prematurely due to lack of financial means. |
| Dongmo et al. 2003 [ | n/a | Average cost of treatment per patient: | Phenobarbital was the most frequently used AED (75%). Compliance rate was 71% and the main reason for non-compliance was a lack of finances. |
| Haroon et al. 2012 [ | n/a | Direct cost to epilepsy patients prescribed 1-4 AEDs | The direct cost to patients increased linearly with the addition of AEDs to patients’ prescription. The majority of patients belonged to the lower middle income group. Some newer AEDs had a higher monthly cost (lamotrigine, levetiracetam and lacosamide) compared to older AEDs. Clobazam had the lowest cost of all newer AEDs. |
| Strzelcyck et al. 2013 [ | Direct costs per patient (2003 cohort) | n/a | Direct costs shifted during the 5-year period of evaluation of trends and resource. During this time hospital costs increased and a cost-neutral increase was observed in the prescription of ‘newer’ AEDs. |
| Vlasov et al. 2010 [ | Direct cost of seizures per patient (employed) | n/a | Although direct costs of treatment increased during the study period, the cost-benefit ratio significantly decreased by 2-3 times in all types of seizures. The study found that rational treatment using ‘new’ AEDs would allow a reduction of the total cost of treatment. |
Abbreviations: AED antiepileptic drugs, DR drug-resistant seizures, EC epilepsy centre, GP general practices, NDE newly diagnosed epilepsy, NDR frequent non-drug-resistant seizures, OS occasional seizures, SR seizure remission, SC surgical, UH university hospital, na not colleted or not reported.
Summary of findings – indirect costs
| Study | Employment Status | Productivity loss | Income | Indirect costs summary |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Das et al. 2007 [ | Most reported reason for discontinuation was cost (90%). | |||
| Farmer et al. 1992 [ | No difference in work days between people with epilepsy and controls. Not enough details provided in published paper to provide quantitative comparison | |||
| Helmstaeder et al. 2000 [ | (Baseline/Followup) | Socioeconomic outcomes was poorer in nonsurgical than in surgical patients | ||
| Kotsopoulos et al 2003 [ | Temporally sick (n) | Production days lost | People with epilepsy from the EC reported the highest productivity losses and unemployment rates | |
| Lindsten et al. 2002 [ | (Control/Patients) | (Control/Patients) | After a newly diagnosed unprovoked epileptic seizure, no negative outcomes regarding employment and education. Income increases unless there is an onset of refractory seizures. | |
| Pato Pato et al 2011 [ | €3,058 per year (€1,529 for 6 months) | Indirect costs due to work productivity losses are substantial and substantially more than direct costs | ||
| Balabanov et al. 2007 [ | Days off work, sick leave days and reduction of salary due to incapacitation were calculated for each patient. These costs were not reported. | Not reported | ||
| Strzelczyk et al. 2013 [ | (2003 cohort) | The amount and distribution of indirect cost components did not change significantly between cohorts. | ||
| Lagunju et al. 2011 [ | Median cost of mother out of work for one year: US$ 1280 | Thirty-seven (17.2%) of mothers gave up their jobs to take care of their child with epilepsy. The annual income lost by families due to this ranged from US$480 to US$1280. The overall mean cost of loss of employment across all 215 child participants was US$493. | ||
| Lv et al. 2009 [ | Parents of children with epilepsy: | Parents of children with epilepsy: | Indirect costs of childhood epilepsy have a severe impact on parental quality of life (QoL) and psychological health. Unemployment in particular, can lead to extreme economic hardship. |
Abbreviations: EC epilepsy centre, GP general practices, UH university hospital
Summary of study quality
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beghi et al. 2004 [ | Y | Y | Y | Y | ? | Y |
| De Zelicourt et al. 2000 [ | Y | Y | Y | Y | ? | Y |
| Helmstaedter et al. 2000 [ | Y | Y | N | ? | ? | Y |
| Lindsten et al. 2002 [ | Y | Y | N | Y | N | ? |
| Pato Pato et al. 2010 [ | Y | N | Y | ? | Y | Y |
| Das et al. 2007 [ | Y | Y | N | Y | ? | Y |
| Tetto et al. 2002 [ | Y | N | Y | ? | ? | Y |
| Kotsopolous et al. 2003 [ | Y | ? | N | ? | ? | Y |
| Langfitt et al. 2007 [ | Y | Y | Y | Y | Y | Y |
| Halpern et al. 2011 [ | ? | Y | N | N | N | Y |
| Farmer et al. 1992 [ | Y | ? | N | Y | N | ? |
| Boon et al 2002 [ | Y | Y | Y | ? | Y | ? |
| Guerrini et al. 2001 [ | Y | Y | ? | ? | ? | ? |
| Cockerell et al 1994 [ | Y | ? | ? | N | ? | ? |
| Balabanov et al 2008 [ | Y | Y | N | ? | Y | N |
| Lagunju et al 2011 [ | Y | Y | Y | N/A | Y | Y |
| Strzelczyk et al 2013 [ | Y | Y | Y | ? | Y | Y |
| Lv et al 2009 [ | Y | Y | ? | ? | ? | ? |
| Doumbia-Outtara et al. 2010 [ | Y | N/A | Y | ? | Y | N/A |
| Dongmo et al. 2003 [ | Y | N/A | Y | ? | Y | N/A |
| Haroon et al. 2012 [ | Y | Y | Y | ? | Y | Y |
| Vlasov et al 2010 [ | Y | N | ? | N | Y | Y |
Measurement of study quality was based on the Joanna Briggs Quality Assessment Appraisal checklist available at: http://joannabriggs.org/assets/docs/sumari/ReviewersManual-2011.pdf; 2013
Quality appraisal criteria:
1. Were the criteria for inclusion in the sample clearly defined?
2. Were confounding factors identified and strategies to deal with them stated?
3. Were outcomes assessed using objective criteria?
4. Were the outcomes of people who withdrew described and included in the analysis?
5. Were outcomes measured in a reliable way?
6. Were appropriate statistical analyses used?